Skip to content

Oatmeal Pie Knock-offs

December 1, 2016
oatmealcookiepies

Oatmeal Cookies and Oatmeal Pie

Yesterday, I needed to make something for my daughter to take on a school trip, something sorta healthy, but also a treat. I have also been looking for cookie recipes that include oats, for heart health and coconut oil, because I read it is better for you than shortening or butter. Plus, I love the rich coconut flavor coconut oil adds to my breakfast smoothies, so I thought it might do the same with baked goods. Finally, I have a penchant for Little Debbie’s Oatmeal Pies. So imagine my delight at finding a recipe for chewy oatmeal raisin cookies that used coconut oil instead of butter, margarine or shortening? I made them last night, cutting down on the white sugar by 1/4 cup. They turned out delicious and even better, I sandwiched one large marshmallow in between two cookies to make oatmeal pies! Sent my daughter off with six pies and six cookies, not to mention a few homemade Rice Krispy treats, lucky kid.

By the way, in order to get the marshmallows to soften enough to sandwich between the two cookies nicely, I placed one cookie, flat side up, with one marshmallow on top, into the microwave for 5-6 seconds. After I take the cookie and marshmallow out of the microwave, I immediately placed a second cookie on top, flat side down, and gently pressed down until the marshmallow hit the edges. I know the Little Debbie’s are not filled with marshmallow, but trust me, in a pinch, this does the trick!

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

