Skip to content

Christmas Cookies Baking Blitz!

December 8, 2012
A few of my cookie booklets and magazines

A few of my cookie booklets and magazines

It’s that time of year when I drag out all of my cookie cookbooks, magazines and booklets. My favorite is the Pillsbury “Bake Off,” which my mother always used when I was a kid. She gave it to me when I got married, and then one year, my husband threw it away, “accidentally.” Well, luckily, I found it on ebay and he now knows that it is precious to me. I remember leafing through this little booklet as a kid and just being enthralled with some of the images, especially the one with the little bottle brush trees, the image of the giant cookie stocking, which is on the back cover as well, and then also the image of the little girl decorating the cut out cookies. I wanted to be her so badly, with all those sprinkles and pretty cut out cookies to decorate. I have baked a lot of the cookies in this little pamphlet over the years and it wouldn’t be Christmas if I didn’t make at least a couple of my favs. This weekend, we are starting with “Jam Strip Cheesers,” which are simple cream cheese dough based cookies filled with jelly. Not too sweet, but very addictive. Woman’s Day had a wonderful “Lemon Snowdrop Cookies” recipe in their 1996 “Holiday Baking” magazine, which is no where to be found online, I looked, thinking I had lost the magazine at one point. It is a simple recipe, with lemon zest, powdered ginger and oats, rolled in powdered sugar when still warm. I love them. Maybe I will add a photo later, if they turn out.

Back page of the Bake Off Cookie Favorites booklet

Back page of the Bake Off Cookie Favorites booklet

 

Bottle brush trees with cookies

Bottle brush trees with cookies

 

 

Lucky little girl decorating cut out cookies

Lucky little girl decorating cut out cookies

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

