Skip to content

Jamaican Banana Bread

March 7, 2012
Jamaican Banana Bread image   

Warm loaf of Jamaican banana bread

              I have been dying to make this Jamaican Banana Bread for a while now. I don’t know why, since I have never eaten it nor made it before. But it the recipe just sounds so tropical with the coconut and rum, I think that must be it, especially at this time of year, when we still have lots of show and cold to look forward to before spring. Anyway, the house smells divine and it looks incredibly good. But how does it tastes? Let me try it right now…OMG, it is just as yummy at it looks! I’ll be adding this recipe to my list of favs. No really, it is really, really, really good!
Of course, I did not have the exact ingredients this recipe called for, so although you can find the recipe here, let me tell you what I changed to suit my pantry. I did not have any limes on hand, so I used orange zest and orange juice in place of where it called for the lime zest and lime juice in the bread recipe. However, I used up all my fresh squeezed orange juice and had to use fresh squeezed lemon juice for the topping. I also added 1/2 teaspoon coconut extract to the 1 teaspoon vanilla extract to add more coconut flavor to the bread. Finally, I probably used closer to 1 1/2 cups of mashed banana than the 1 cup the recipe called for. I had three really, really ripe bananas and did not want to waste the third one. I also used dark brown sugar instead of regular brown sugar and I use Mount Gay rum instead of dark rum. But everything else was the same. I did use real butter instead of margarine, which was an option in the recipe. I just don’t keep margarine in my house. No judging here, I just don’t happen to care for the taste of any margarine I’ve tasted. Should I ever taste one that I really like, I will post that breaking news here, but don’t hold your breath.
From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

