Skip to content

Kicking lunchtime boredom to the curb!

February 22, 2012
plain sandwich

Sad and boring sandwich

Do you ever find yourself in a lunch rut? Taking the same thing to work or school everyday and eventually getting tired of it? Although I like sandwiches, especially the Rachael from GT Bakery & Deli and the Bahn Mi from Frenchies Famous, I don’t love to make and take sandwiches for lunch. Doesn’t matter if I roast a chicken and make my cinnamon almond chicken salad or some other filling from scratch, like corned beef, once I carry them around in my lunch bag for a couple hours, I am just not in the mood once I open it up. Does that make me a lunch snob? Don’t get me wrong, I like to go out for lunch, and have lots of great places to choose from here in TC, but I also cannot afford to go out to lunch 4 or 5 days a week. In addition, I am not a big fan of processed lunch meats, not at all. Time to get creative…

Years ago, while shopping for produce at Nino Salvaggio in St. Clair Shores, I sampled a wonderful vegetarian wrap that I’ve never forgotten. It was simply a big round piece of flat lavash bread, spread with an herb cream cheese and then filled with lightly steamed, but still crunchy, broccoli and cauliflower, all rolled up and sliced. That simple wrap was so yummy and satisfying, it was my inspiration for today’s lunch. I used a giant Lawash spinach flat bread, spread with both chive and garden vegetable cream cheeses, sliced cucumber, sliced radish, lightly steamed

Plated veggie spinach wrap

Spinach veggie wrap with cucumber, radish and cashews

broccoli florets, a  few leaves of Boston lettuce and some horseradish white cheddar (my latest addiction). I rolled it up tightly and sliced it in half. It looked so good that I ate half for breakfast. My teenage daughter scammed the other half, and proclaimed it “good.” Of course she pulled off the broccoli and added chicken, but she is sooo picky, I still consider it a success that she ate it at all. So tomorrow, I’m going to whip up another one, and see if at least half makes it out the door with me to school. And, I will try to remember to take a picture…

And here is a picture of my wrap today, a day later. I substituted cashews for the broccoli though, since the broccoli was eaten up last night. I’m happy to say it was just as delicious!

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

