Skip to content

Chocolate Winnings!

February 19, 2012
Chocolate Den gift basket

Chocolate Den's Valentine's Day drawing gift basket

I started a new tradition with my youngest daughter a few weeks ago. “Chocolate Friday.” It started when we went into The Chocolate Den, a local chocolate shop, a few weeks back, and had so much fun picking out handmade chocolates, that we decided it would be a fun mother/daughter thing to do every week. And since it just so happened to be a Friday, Chocolate Friday was born.  I was actually craving some  peanut butter cups made with Naturally Nutty peanut butter, a local peanut butter company, that I had fallen in taste-love with last summer at the Cherry Festival. They were from the Chocolate Den so I assumed they would have them on hand, but I was wrong.

We discovered that the chocolate shop had just been bought within the last two weeks and the new owners had not had a chance to get to the peanut butter cups! I was very disappointed, but picking out a box of truffles that included “Cheesecake,” “Salted Caramel,” and “Pistachio Coconut,” did ease my pain a bit. We added some chocolate covered sea foam and a couple chocolate covered strawberries that looked irresistible as well. I have to say, the chocolates were fab-u-lous! Needless to say, this past Friday was our fourth visit and what a surprise we found waiting for us. On the third Friday, which was the last one before Valentine’s Day, I entered the Valentine’s Day Gift Basket drawing, and then promptly forgot about it. But when we entered the shop this past Friday, one of the owner’s informed me that my name had been drawn for the gift basket! How sweet was that? It included a selection of 16 truffles (that we got to pick out then and there), a mug, and bags of other sweets, including some pecan turtles, which I love. We really love this place now!

And even though I won this great basket, I had to try the pistachio turtles, yup, pistachio turtles with milk chocolate and caramel, I just had to. And they were amazing! The pistachios were salted, so it was that salty sweet combo that I find utterly food-soul satisfying. Needless to say, I foresee many Chocolate Fridays on the horizon. Did I also mention they bake there too? Brownies and cupcakes full of chocolaty goodness. Yeah, lots of Fridays…

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

