Skip to content

Intros…

February 13, 2012
Betty, Dough-boy and Martha 

Kitchen Icons

     Hello and welcome to my foodie blog, Every Pan in the House. I have another blog about art and web design here, which was sharing a lot of space with my foodie posts, so I decided it was time to create a foodie only blog. Although the term foodie has been around for a while now, I think it means different things to different people. For me, foodie is a catch-all phrase I use when referring to anything food related, like  cooking, dining, kitchens, cooking equipment, restaurants, cookbooks, chefs, canning, gardening, cookbooks, and, well, I think you get the drift. I am not a professional cook, I never have been and I have no desire to be one. I do take the occasional cooking class and I own a ridiculous number of cookbooks. I enjoy reading a cookbook in bed as much as a novel sometimes. Saveur  is the only cooking magazine subscription I currently receive, but I’m considering Cook’s Illustrated and frequently pick up Martha Stewart Living at the checkout.  I am a huge fan of “Good Eats,” “No Reservations,” “The Layover,” “Nigella Bites,” and “Iron Chef” (both Japanese and American). I love ethnic food, particularly Mexican, Greek, Vietnamese, Indian, German and Italian. I love to try new things (foods, cooking gadgets, recipes…etc.) and create new recipes of my own. And I love to document delicious and/or beautiful food by taking photographs with my handy cell phone camera!  So that’s why I’m here, posting my foodie adventures while learning how to use WordPress.

Although I think the title of my blog is self explanatory, I should probably explain it for those who don’t cook like I do…though I hope many of you do, so I am not alone here. I did not actually come up with the name of my blog, my husband did, inadvertently. While he frequently enjoys my cooking, he has said on more than one occasion, after walking into the kitchen aftermath, “I don’t know how you use every pan in the house,” or something thereabouts. And it is true. I am not one of those really graceful cooks, like Martha Stewart or Julia Child, who seem to move effortlessly around the kitchen. I am more like a circus act, leaping back and forth between the counters, stove, fridge, sink and pantry, trying to juggle and balance everything at once. Of course I am not like that all the time, but often, I am, especially when trying to put a new, multi-course meal on the table that includes more than one new recipe. I’m okay with this, but my kitchen looks like a tornado just went though with bowls, measuring cups and spoons, pots and pans, knives and spoons scattered all over, like casualties of war. I know people who clean up as they go along, which I so admire, and once in a while, I can work like that, but not usually. However, I recently started reading, “Ruhlman’s 20,” and I think if I start pulling out everything I need before I start, I might become much more efficient, but only time will tell.

Sweet Orange Buns image

Warm from the oven, Sweet Orange Buns

Finally, though I have been mulling over the idea of starting a foodie blog for a long time now, it was the Sweet Orange Buns I baked yesterday that finally pushed me over the top. They were so incredibly good, I thought “its time.” This passion I have for food is ready for its own blog! Which means I have to include the photo and recipe link here, in my inaugural post. And honestly, they are so incredibly good, they truly deserve to be here. I got the recipe from my latest Saveur 100 issue last month, which included a big, gorgeous photo. I wanted to make them as a surprise for my husband, who loves cinnamon rolls. Needless to say, he loved them, as did the rest of my family. Buttery, orangy, sweet and warm from the oven, they were amazing! I have even decided to give them as Christmas gifts to our friends and neighbors next year instead of the rum cakes I bake every year. They were that good.

There are two things I want to mention though. First, I didn’t follow this recipe exactly. I have an Oster bread machine that came with a pamphlet-type cookbook. I used the cinnamon roll dough recipe, which is simply a sweet roll dough recipe, in place of the dough recipe in the magazine. Everything else I did exactly according to the recipe, even the baking time. It saved me a lot of time and labor. Of course, you can do it anyway you want, but if you have a bread machine that has a dough only setting, its an option. Second, after you slice up the rolled-up dough and place the slices in the pan, you have to refrigerate them for 6 hours. I did this, but it meant that we didn’t get to eat them until almost 10 p.m., since I started the dough at 1 p.m. in the bread machine and didn’t get it rolled and cut until about 3 p.m. So don’t forget to take that into consideration if you plan on making these to serve at a certain time.

Thanks for stopping by to visit my very first post and if you make the buns, I’d love to hear how they turned out.

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

